Recognition and awards

Waterfront Center's Clearwater Award

On Oct. 23, 2009, FfOR received the prestigious Clearwater Award given annually by the Waterfront Center of Washington, DC to recognize citizen organizations who support public spaces, unique cultural features, civic pride, sensitivity to the water, economic sustainability and environmental values for their city's waterfront.
FfOR secretary Renee Lartigue and president Virginia McLean in Seattle accepting the Clearwater Award.

50 Women Who Make A Difference

FfOR president, Virginia McLean, was selected as one of 50 Women Who Make a Difference for 2007. An urban planner by education and author of The Memphis Guide, Virginia was recognized for her involvement in heightening community awareness of Memphis's treasures and as an activist who works tirelessly for the betterment of Memphis and its citizens. With Virginia at the award ceremon on Aug. 27 were FfOR Board members Susan Caldwell, who received the honor in 2006, and husband Hite McLean.

Friends for Our Riverfront board member, Susan Caldwell, was selected one of the year's 50 Women Who Make a Difference for 2006!!

Sierra Club Smart Growth Award

Friends for Riverfront received Sierra Club's "Smart Growth" Award in December, 2004. The award was in recognition of FfOR’s plan to protect the harbor and to restore the Public Promenade. The Promenade, which was donated by City founders as a public greenway, is currently on the Tennessee Preservation Trust’s "Top Ten" list of most endangered sites.

Sierra Club award - Click to enlarge
Virginia McLean holding the Sierra Club 2004 Smart Growth Award. With her from left are board members Jeanne Arthur, Sue A. Williams, Don Richardson. Click photo to enlarge.

Memphis Heritage 2004 Preservation Planning Award

On September 23, 2004, at the historic Parkview Hotel, FfOR president Virginia McLean was presented with the Memphis Heritage Preservation Planning Award for 2004. This honor was given "for outstanding efforts to foster historic preservation activities through the use of the urban planning process."

Board members and supporters
On behalf of FfOR, president Virginia McLean accepting the Memphis Heritage 2004 Preservation Planning Award. From the left: Hite Mclean, Don Richardson, June West, Jeanne Arthur, Virginia McLean (front), John Gary (back) Judith Johnson, Susan Caldwell, Sue A. Williams.